Tech

How to Stop Companies from Sharing Your Personal Data With Facebook

These companies are collecting your data outside Facebook.
IMAGE Abo Limos, Facebook
Comments

Most users on Facebook are unaware that their personal information is being shared by businesses and organizations even when they’re not using Facebook. This information is called Off-Facebook Activity, which are records of your behavior and interactions with websites and apps outside of Facebook.

These third-party apps and websites share your information and behavior with Facebook, which then provides these data to analytics companies for advertising purposes. One such analytics company was Cambridge Analytica, which harvested millions of personal data and used the information for targeted political advertising in the U.S. and in the Philippines.

TOP STORY: Manny Pacquiao to Run for President

In the Philippines, Cambridge Analytica harvested data from 1.2 million users in 2018. A former executive at Cambridge Analytica admitted to influencing elections in the Philippines using data they gathered from Filipino Facebook users.

You can limit how much information about you is recorded and shared by third-party organizations when you use their apps or click on their websites. Follow the simple steps below.

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

1| On your Facebook app, go to 'Settings.'

Access Settings by clicking on the three horizontal lines on the top-right corner of your screen. On the desktop, this is the arrow-down icon on the top-right corner.

CONTINUE READING BELOW
Recommended Videos

2| Scroll down and click 'Your Facebook Information.'

3| Select 'Off-Facebook Activity.'

4| Click 'Manage Your Off-Facebook Activity.'

You will be asked to enter your Facebook password at this point.

5| Erase your activity.

A list of organizations and businesses that share your information will be shown. You can erase your activity by selecting each business individually and revoking their access to your information, or by erasing your entire history in Off-Facebook Activity.

Erasing your activity will disconnect the businesses and organizations from your Facebook account. However, Facebook will still receive your data about your behavior outside of Facebook when you visit them in the future.  

Comments
View More Articles About:
About The Author
Mario Alvaro Limos
Features Editor, Esquire Philippines
View Other Articles From Mario
Comments
Connect With Us